Rome opened a new chapter in the history of the Community

Прочетена: 61

The President of the European Commission (EC) Jean-Claude Juncker presented to the European Parliament five scenarios for the future of the European Union. They are gathered in “White Paper on the future of Europe: reflections and scenarios for the EU-27 by 2025”. Juncker outlined five alternative pathways. The first is “Carrying on” – maintaining the course of current policies, the second – “Nothing but the single market” – the focus is entirely on removing trade barriers, the third – “Those who want more do more” – multi-speed Europe in which countries that want to integrate at a greater degree in an industry should not wait for others. The fourth is “Doing less more efficiently” – selection of a limited number of areas where member states want more integration and less effort in other sectors. The fifth is “Doing much more together”– deepening the integration in most areas. The President of the Commission refrains from recommending a particular course saying “Ultimately, I am not only the one who will decide. It is in the hands of your parliament, national assemblies, governments, civil society, in other words – citizens will be able to comment. We prefer to listen before expressing our opinion.”

In the ensuing plenary debate some MPs welcomed the approach of the EC to present the possible alternatives, others were disappointed that there are no clear indications for the preferred choice and still others took the discussion as a sign that the EU is on the verge of falling apart.

The five scenarios will be presented to the 27 leaders of the EU member states without the UK on 25 March in Rome. Then will be marked 60 years since the day when the six founding member states agreed on the Treaties of Rome. On 25 March, 1957 they established the European Economic Community. The contracts are two and below stand the signatures of those six countries: Belgium, France, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands and West Germany. They come into force on 1 January, 1958. Along with the founding Treaties of Rome was signed a convention on the common for the three communities European Court and European Parliament.

Сподели в социалните мрежи

Автор на 23.03.2017. Категория Accents. Можеш да следиш всички коментари и промени по тази публикации през RSS 2.0. Можете свободно да коментирате тази публикация

Вашият коментар

Вашият имейл адрес няма да бъде публикуван. Задължителните полета са отбелязани с *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.